phone (270) 827-5753
fax (270) 827-6032

C.A.T.S. Program FAQs

  • Preliminary Questions
    - How do I sign up?
    - How much is the C.A.T.S. Program fee?
    - What is the difference between the Live Course and the Online Course?
    - Is the program fee in addition to the prepayable amount on my citation?
    - What I have pre-paid the ticket, can I get a refund and enter this Program?
    - What if I decide, after I have signed up for the Program, that I just want to pay my ticket?
    - What if I am under eighteen (18) years old?
    - What if I live out of town?
    - What if I work nights?
    - When did this program start?
    - Do you do improper equipment for speeding or other eligible traffic citations?
    - I got a ticket in Webster County (or another surrounding county), do they offer this program?
    - I don’t think I deserve this ticket. What should I do?
    - Do I have to enroll?
  • Volunteering Questions
    - I live out of town, can I volunteer my two hours in my home town?
    - Can I do my volunteer service where I work?
  • Traffic Safety Course Questions
    - What if I’m late for class?
    - What if I’m unable to make it to the live course?
    - What is the on-line course?
    - What is the driving simulator?
    - Can I reschedule my class?
  • Court-Related Questions
    - Do I have to go to court?
    - What if I miss my court date?
    - I have a FAILURE TO APPEAR for missing court, what should I do?
    - I have a Bench Warrant for my arrest because I missed court, what should I do?
  • Failure to Comply Questions
    - I missed one or more deadlines, what should I do?
    - What if I don’t have the program fee by the deadline?
    - What if I didn’t complete my volunteer service?
    - What happens if I get another citation within six (6) months?
    - I got a seatbelt ticket after signing up, does this expel me from the program?

Preliminary Questions

Q: How do I sign up?

A: You can sign up by

  • Apply online by filling out the Eligibility Questionnaire here (email address required),
  • Visit the Henderson County Attorney’s Office at 20 N. Main Street, Suite 201, Henderson, Kentucky 42420; or
  • Appear in Henderson District Court on your original court date and speak to the prosecutor about the C.A.T.S. Program.

^ back to top

Q: How much is the C.A.T.S. Program fee?

A: The cost of the program depends on whether you wish to enroll in the Live Course or the Online Course. The pricing for each Program is:

  • Live Course – $125 (effective for violations on or after May 1, 2015)
      • For violations prior to May 1, 2015, the fee is $100
  • Online Course – $150

^ back to top

Q: What is the difference between the Live Course and the Online Course?

A: The Live course requires you to attend a one (1) hour traffic safety course including the driving simulator and impaired vision goggles. The program fee for the Live program is $125.00 (for violations on or after May 1, 2015). The Online program allows you to complete the traffic safety course online without the need of returning to Henderson, Kentucky. The program fee for the Online program is $150.00. All other requirements necessary to successfully complete our program are the same for the Live and Online program.

^ back to top

Q: Is the program fee in addition to the prepayable amount on my citation?

A: If you successfully complete the C.A.T.S. Program, you will not be required to pay any other amounts (including fine or court costs) unless you have additional charges on your citation (i.e. no seat belt, failure to appear, etc.).

^ back to top

 Q: What I have pre-paid the ticket, can I get a refund and enter this Program?

A: Once the ticket has been pre-paid, you have pled guilty and the case is now closed. If you would still like to enroll, you may ask the court to reopen your case and withdraw your guilty plea; however, the court will not refund your pre-paid amount.

^ back to top

Q: What if I decide, after I have signed up for the Program, that I just want to pay my ticket?

A: Please contact the Circuit Court Clerk’s office in the Henderson County Judicial Center to pre-pay your ticket. Please be advised that if you have already submitted the program fee for the CATS Program, that fee will not be returned to you and that fee will be forfeited.

^ back to top

Q: What if I am under eighteen (18) years old?

A: For individuals under eighteen (18) who have never received a ticket, there is a one-time youth offender program that may be the most beneficial option for you. Please appear in court on the date listed in your citation to speak with the prosecutors about this program. Please be advised that your parent or legal custodian must be present with you.

^ back to top

Q: What if I live out of town?

A: An online course is available in lieu of the live traffic safety course and driving simulator lessons for a total cost of $150.

The online course is approximately 30 minutes long and includes several quizzes. The participant must pass the final test in order to successfully complete the program.

This program prevents the traffic offender from traveling back to Henderson, Kentucky for the traffic safety course.

^ back to top

Q: What if I work nights?

A: We offer a daytime class once every few months at 10:00 a.m. for those individuals who work second or third shift. Please click here to see our most recent class schedule. Alternatively, an online program is offered in which you can access and complete the traffic safety course at your convenience.

^ back to top

Q: When did this program start?

A: This program started January 1, 2012.

^ back to top

Q: Do you do improper equipment for speeding or other eligible traffic citations?

A: No. Our office has determined that amending charges to improper equipment does not improve driving safety nor does it improve the safety of our streets. In fact, amending to improper equipment was more expensive than the CATS Program as it required you to pay court costs and possibly a fine.

^ back to top

Q: I got a ticket in Webster County (or any other surrounding county), do they offer this program?

A: It varies by county. Each county may or may not have a traffic safety program and the requirements for each county’s program, if available, may vary significantly.

^ back to top

Q: I don’t think I deserve this ticket. What should I do?

A: We cannot give you legal advice on what option you should choose. Please contact an attorney to discuss your legal rights and options. If you want to contest this ticket, you may talk to the Judge and/or the prosecutor about having a trial on this matter.

^ back to top

Q: Do I have to enroll?

A: This is a completely voluntary program. You are not required to enroll and may choose any other option, including a trial, state traffic school, or to simply plead guilty. Click here for a list of options and the benefits of each option.

^ back to top

Volunteering Questions

Q: I live out of town, can I volunteer my two hours in my home town?

A: Yes, the only requirement is that you must volunteer at a non-profit organization or religious organization and you cannot be receiving any compensation or fulfilling another volunteer requirement.

^ back to top

Q: Can I do my volunteer service where I work?

A: Generally no, but you may contact the County Attorney’s Office about any situation that you feel may require an exception.

^ back to top

Traffic Safety Course Questions

Q: Do I need to schedule my traffic safety class?

A: No. The CATS Program posts it scheduled classes and provides that list to you. You may attend any scheduled class on or before the deadline listed in Section 3 of the Agreement. Please see the calendar for upcoming CATS traffic safety courses. Please be early to your traffic safety course. If you are so late for class that the instructor or supervisor will not allow you to enter the classroom, you will need to attend a subsequent course. You may contact our office at 270-827-6008 to request an extension to attend a traffic safety course. Please be advised if you have not attended a traffic safety course prior to the deadline or received an extension from our office, you must appear in court on the court date listed in Section 5 of the CATS Agreement.

^ back to top

Q: Can I request an extension to attend a class after the deadline listed in my CATS Agreement?

A: Possibly, you may request an extension to attend a class after your deadline. However, it is in the complete discretion of the CATS Program whether to allow an extension of any deadline in the CATS Agreement.

^ back to top

Q: What if I’m unable to make it to the live course?

A: An online course is available in lieu of the live traffic safety course and driving simulator lessons for an additional fee (the total cost for the ONLINE Program is $150).

The online course is approximately 30 minutes long and includes several quizzes. The participant must pass the final test in order to successfully complete the program.

^ back to top

Q: What is the on-line course?

A: The online course includes a video that lasts approximately 30 minutes and several quizzes. The participant must correctly answer fourteen (14) or more questions out of twenty (20) in order to successfully pass the course.

^ back to top

Q: What is the driving simulator?

A: Our driving simulator includes state-of-the-art software and uses exercises in a virtual environment to make individuals better drivers. Using the simulator, they can learn from their mistakes, realize their dangerous driving habits and even have horrific accidents all in a virtual, simulated environment.

With our simulator software, an individual can drive a wide range of vehicles (i.e. compact car, midsize sedan, SUV, delivery truck, etc.) in a variety of environments (i.e. rainy, foggy, night, day, dusk). Additionally, the software can be customized for crash avoidance, risky situations, scored driving, and the basics of driving. To point out the dangers of texting and driving, one or more individuals will get a chance to get in the simulator and attempt to text and drive.

We can combine the technology of our simulator with impaired goggles (i.e. beer goggles or drug goggles) to show the effects certain levels of impairment would have on an individual’s driving ability.

Here is a picture of our driving simulator.

(INSERT IMAGE)

^ back to top

Court-Related Questions

Q: Do I have to go to court

A: If the individual signs an Agreement prior to his or her initial court date, they will not be required to attend court. The individual’s court date will be continued to allow the individual time to complete the program.

If the individual is compliant with all requirements of the Henderson CATS Program, he/she is not required to appear in court on the date listed in Section 6 of the Agreement.

If at any time the individual becomes non-compliant, they may contact our office to determine whether they must appear in court on the court date listed in Section 6 of the CATS Agreement.

^ back to top

Q: What if I miss my court date?

A: If you miss a court date that you were required to attend, the Judge may issue a Failure to Appear and/or a Bench Warrant for your arrest. Failure to appear in court is punishable by jail time and/or a fine. A bench warrant will inform law enforcement officers to arrest you, if located, and to transport you to Henderson County Detention Center.

^ back to top

Q: I have a FAILURE TO APPEAR for missing court, what should I do?

A: Please contact our office at 270-827-6008. Depending on the circumstances, we may be able to assist you in resolving this issue. However, there are situations in which we may not be able to assist you. Please be advised that if the Judge issues a failure to appear, it initiates action by the Transportation Cabinet to suspend your driver’s license if you do not resolve the issue in a timely fashion.

^ back to top

Q: I have a Bench Warrant for my arrest because I missed court, what should I do?

A: If the Judge issued a bench warrant, you will be required to turn yourself into the Henderson County Detention Center. It may be wise to find out your bond amount so that you may take that amount with you and immediately bond out. If not, you may be required to remain in the Henderson County Detention Center until the next available court date or later.

^ back to top

Failure to Comply Questions

Q: I missed one or more deadlines, what should I do?

A: You may contact our office to determine whether you need to appear in court on the date listed in Section 6 of the CATS Agreement.

^ back to top

Q: What if I don’t have the program fee by the deadline?

A: You may request an extension from the County Attorney’s Office. However, whether an extension is granted is in their discretion. You may email the County Attorney’s Office at cats@hendersonky.us to request an extension to pay the program fee by the deadline.

^ back to top

Q: What if I didn’t complete my volunteer service?

A: You need to appear in court on the court date listed in Section 6 of the Agreement that you signed.

^ back to top

Q: What happens if I get another citation within six (6) months?

A: Since this is program is designed to promote safety and receiving a subsequent ticket is contrary to safe driving, you will:

Be expelled from the CATS Program,

Forfeit your fee, and

Required to appear in court on the date listed in Section 6 of the CATS Agreement and handle both tickets without the CATS Program as an option.

^ back to top

Q: What happens if I have no further citations for the Six (6) Month Period?

A: Assuming you are compliant with all other requirements (i.e. fee, course and volunteer hours), the CATS Program will recommend to the Judge that the charge(s) be dismissed, no points go on your license, and nothing is reflected on your MVR so your insurance rate will not go up.

^ back to top

Q: I got a seatbelt ticket after signing up, does this expel me from the program?

A: No. A seat belt ticket will not expel you from our program. If you receive a subsequent ticket within the six (6) month timeframe, you may contact our office to determine whether that subsequent citation received in Kentucky will result in your expulsion from the CATS Program.

^ back to top

Henderson Country Traffic Safety Porgram
  • Tip of the Day
    Distracted Driving – 2011 Crash Fatality Report

    In Kentucky in 2011, there were over 53,900 crashes resulting in over 15,000 injuries and 176 fatalities due to distracted driving.

  • Site Design by Eric Anderson